Taking a Different Route – Job Hunting

13 Sep

My husband and I have essentially been employed full-time for awhile. When I first met him, he was working as a garbage man for a privately-owned company so he wasn’t making a lot of money. He had a degree in something he didn’t particularly care for or want to use (Political Science) because he’d been pushed into the idea that he should go to law school. He didn’t want to go to law school. He decided, right around the time that I had met him, that he wanted to actually pursue writing so he began taking classes in journalism. While he was doing this, he voluntarily wrote reviews for games on a semi-popular website, which gave him experience in an area he wanted to pursue.

I pushed him, in a good way, to constantly apply for writing jobs. He landed his first job in the financial field, writing about something he didn’t even like. However, he didn’t mind it and it was a great way to get some real writing experience while making more money than he had been making. Every day I found myself on websites, looking for a job for him in a field that he wanted. Finally, I found what was nearly his dream job working for a video game company. Alas, he wasn’t chosen but was offered another position in the company, only to be called two weeks later telling him their original choice had vacated the position without warning and he was offered the position. He has been there for over four years and is regularly praised for his writing. He has earned small raises, including bonuses, throughout his four years there.

I began this blog entry with his story because he is actually quite successful and well-liked at his current position. They often praise his abilities and offer him new things to do occasionally outside of his realm. It seemed that he didn’t have a difficult time landing full-time work in his field; in fact, he applied to a job at another global company (his company is also worldwide) and they loved his portfolio so much that even when he turned down the offer, they called him back two weeks later, asking him to reconsider because his portfolio was the only one they really enjoyed.

So what is the problem?

My husband and I would like to increase our income. Since we are in the process of purchasing a co-op and obtaining a home loan, we can’t really entertain the idea of applying for different jobs right now. I always read about people online getting freelance work—everyone and their mom has a freelance job now. I cannot tell you how long my husband has been trying to obtain a freelance position. He has applied time after time to countless websites, job offers, gigs, etc only to never hear back. He has only been able to obtain really crappy jobs that aren’t even worth the output—like writing $7 articles.

At the same time, I would like to increase my income as well. I have a license in an area that supposedly has a shortage, which is just a bunch of nonsense. I have applied to a ton of jobs, check the websites of various places regularly and search for jobs in a variety of places. Sometimes a place will call you, after you send your resume which clearly states everything you know how to do on it, and then have no interest in you because you lack experience in the “right” area and they aren’t willing to train you. Right now, more than ever, I feel like I am in a money crunch. I have been looking for a part-time job for ages and I can’t seem to get one.

So—Taking a Different Route You Say?

I decided enough was enough. Today I started off going through my usual sites looking for jobs.

Then I stopped. And I did something differently.

I went to the job sites of particular places and e-mailed them my resume anyway. They didn’t have any particular job openings in my field that were posted but I figured what the hell—if they don’t have a position then why don’t I just send it anyway? Maybe I’ll get lucky and someone is leaving. Maybe they don’t update their website. Who knows? I wrote up a nice little e-mail as a cover letter and attached my resume.

I sent it to one place.

And then I did the same and sent it to another, this time including the fact that I had heard about the place from a particular person higher in the chain of command.

I stopped looking for these little places and tried one more time to apply to a real place. Yes, I found a place that wasn’t too far. They had a position that I could apply for so I set-up an account, filled out their entire online application, uploaded my resume—it was completely finished. And then…

…and then, just like that, I got to the end once I submitted it and it stated, “Sorry…” My blood was ready to boil. The website would not accept the application online for that particular position!

And then I went back to submitting my resume to the tiny places, finding their e-mail addresses on their websites.

And then one place called.

And then another.

And I started to set-up interviews within two hours of submitting my resume.

Long Story, Short Summary

Sometimes, you just need to break out of the mold. Sometimes you just really need to do something differently. What I was doing wasn’t getting me anywhere—I needed to be more personal and attack it from another angle. I am going to interview at one place tomorrow and I need to call the other place back and set-up an interview for that position as well. I hope I can pick-up some side work because we could desperately use it.

So maybe that’s why my husband needs. If you’re also struggling to find a second job (or even a first one) maybe it’s time to do something differently. For me, that day is today. Wish me luck on my interviews!

5 Responses to “Taking a Different Route – Job Hunting”

  1. julz82 September 14, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    Hi! Your story gives me hope that I too will get the job I want (and need) – it’s about strategy and drive. Your journey on the hunt seems to prove you have skills any employer would want!
    All the best on your interviews!!
    Julz

  2. femmefrugality September 18, 2012 at 12:41 am #

    This is so great! I did the same thing once except I drove around town in my business casuals with my resume in hand. An on the spot interview and I was employed! If I had done things the traditional way it wouldn’t have worked out so well. Congrats, congrats, congrats! And best of luck in your interviews…I’m sure you’ll do great!

    • the thrifty spendthrift September 19, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

      Thanks. I wonder if that’s still applicable these days—most places I find want you to apply online and, if in person, will just take your resume and brush you off.

      No updates as of yet, unfortunately. Hopefully soon. Gah!

      • femmefrugality September 21, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

        True. Most of the places I went were small businesses, and the one where I found employment hadn’t even announced its opening yet so I lucked out.

Leave a Reply

